Tibetan Astrological Science is the ancient art of calculation and interpretation of the phenomena. It is usually classified into two categories: Astrology of the Elements (Jungtsi) and Astronomy (Kartsi).

The Public

Open to all.


'Byung rtsis (pron. Jung Tsi) or Elemental Astrology observe the five elements of Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water, twelve animal signs, nine magic square numbers (sMe ba, pron. as Mewa - 'mole', 'birthmark' translating form Tibetan) and the positions of the eight Parkha trigrams, which are arranged in a circle around the Mewa within the astrological chart.

One's life may be influenced by the planets and their movement, one's past karma, or by beneficent or malevolent spirits. The spirits are classified into nine categories, represented by the nine numbers inside the Mewa; although the numbers change position within the square each year, one's birth Mewa will always remain constant. Each Parkha likewise symbolises a spirit or a deity; the eight Parkhas also move around the chart from year to year and their relationships to each other are said to be like a family, with positions of mother, father, eldest son and daughter, nephews and nieces. 

The Tibetan Astrology examine the eight Parkhas, the nine Mewas, the 12 animals, and the five elements in conjunction with the individual's year, month, day and time of birth to construct a prediction about any of the 5 categories of life. The most important of these are: Srog (pron. Sog) - Life force element; Lus (pron. Lü) - Health or Body element; Wangthang - Capacity element (Financial situation); rLungtha (pron. Lungtha) - Fortune element (Success) and bLa (pron. La) - Protective element.

You will learn

One's horoscope feature observations and forecasts for each of the individual categories. Where the imbalance of energy is found, it is recommended an antidote to offset negative influences or to prevent them in the future. Antidotes vary on many different circumstances: one may be instructed to perform a ritual, to give alms or save some beings' life, and more serious cases may require a special rite.


  • Namkha

    Namkha in Tibetan means space. Space is the base of all of the other elements (water, earth, fire, air) and all phenomena. Namkha is also the name of a particular object that in ancient times was very well known in Shang Shung and Tibet, and it is also a symbol of the culture widely diffused in those countries.

    The method to make a Namkha was already renowned in the pre-Buddhist, Bön tradition, but, according to the research made by Chögyal Namkhai Norbu, its origin is even more ancient. This special symbolic object existed not only in Shang Shung and Tibet but also, in several cases, in the ancient cultures of other peoples. This can be proven, for example, by the fact that it has been found among the Native Americans who live very far from Tibet, and also among some populations of Africa.

    This knowledge is related to the three main aspects of Tibetan astrology: the cycle of the twelve animals, the five elements and the nine mewas.

    In our existence all kinds of conflicts and problems may manifest: through a Namkha we can harmonize the relationships, sometimes conflictual, between our personal elements, so as to produce a positive effect on the circumstances of our daily life. As a result, our vital energy will be strengthened, our health improved and we will be able to face more easily anything that manifests in our lives.

    Not only is a Namkha a beautiful object to keep in our house, but it also has the actual function of harmonizing our circumstances, that is activated through a rite of empowerment. Anybody who wishes to prepare and have a Namkha can do it, but only those who have received transmission from Chögyal Namkhai Norbu may perform the rite for empowering it.

  • Tibetan Elemental Astrology

    Tibetan Elemental Astrologycalled Jung Tsi ('Byung rTsis), is a term that generally covers a variety of techniques. It is based upon the relationships of the five elements, twelve animal signs, nine magic Mewa square numbers and the eight Parkha trigrams. Each year has its own element and animal sign, and also each month, day and hour has its own element.

    Elemental astrology is used to construct a birth horoscope, marriage compatibility, yearly predictions, medical calculations, death horoscopes for funeral arrangements etc. In the calculation of elemental horoscope an astrologer examines five aspects of life: Srog (pron. Sog) - Life force element; Lus (pron. Lü) - Health or Body element; Wangthang - Capacity element (Financial situation); rLungtha (pron. Lungtha) - Fortune element (Success) and bLa (pron. La) - Protective element.

Authorized Instructors


United States